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State Policies and Procedures Regarding “Gate Money”
Center for Public Policy Research
University of California, Davis
Introduction
The term “gate money” refers to the predetermined amount of money given to eligible
inmates upon discharge from state prison. From state to state, however, both the
amount of money provided and the source of those monies differ. The purpose of the
current report is to present descriptive information on the gate money policies and
practices of California; to compare those policies and practices with those of other
states; and to discuss what little published information is available on how these
payment amounts are determined, the intended uses of the payments, how inmates
actually utilize these funds, and —ultimately —whether the provision of gate money has

an effect on the sizable, nationwide problem of recidivism.

Overview of Gate Money

For inmates in State prisons throughout the US, certain discharge procedures take place
prior to their release by parole or sentence completion. Although these procedures vary,
the goals are the same: to link inmates to crucial services such as job training,
employment, health care, or drug treatment; to assist the inmate in finding safe and
stable housing; to provide social support and a structure for daily living in the first days
and week after release (often identified as a vulnerable time for ex-offenders); and to
provide a safety net in case of relapse into criminal behavior or substance abuse

(Freudenberg, 2006).

When looking at the issue of gate money, summarization is difficult, as policies differ
both between states and based on the situation of the inmate (e.g., length of time served,

the existence of adequate personal funds). The gate money model followed in Arizona,



however, is fairly common and can therefore serve as a reasonable starting point from
which to compare other practices. Current law in Arizona dictates that discharged
inmates receive all funds—up to $50 —that have been accumulating in a “dedicated
discharge account” during the inmate’s time of incarceration (Middle Ground Prison
Reform, 2003). Such discharge accounts are built up through regular 30% deductions
from prisoners’ wages (if they have participated in a prison work program) or through
gifts from families and friends. This account is frozen at $50, and no interest accrues on
these funds. If a prisoner has not worked, the state will “gift” him or her this money for
the first release only. In addition to the $50 and whatever money may be in private
accounts (which are allowed), inmates are provided a set of clothes, and (if eligible) a
bus or rail ticket to the closest stop outside state lines. According to one corrections
expert in Arizona, few inmates leave with more than this $50 (Donna Hamm, personal

communication, October 13, 2007).

In California, State legislation dictates that prisoners paroled or discharged from any
California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) institution or reentry
facility are entitled to $200 upon release (CDCR, 2007). It is the parole agent who is
responsible for giving out these funds, yet agents do not need to grant their parolees the
entire sum immediately. Instead, agents may distribute the $200 in installments over a
period of 60 days following release. Although practices vary, inmates typically receive
$50 to $100 of the gate money at the time of their first parole officer meeting (Prison
Law, 2007). Parolees who have served less than six consecutive months prior to release
are also eligible for gate money, but are not necessarily eligible for the full $200:
California penal code dictates that such inmates receive gate funds computed at a rate
of $1.10 per day served during the revocation term, up to a maximum of $200 (15 CCR §
3075.2). Such decisions are left to the discretion of an inmate’s parole agent based on

perceived need, and the perceived likelihood that such money will aid the inmate’s



rehabilitation. Unlike Arizona, however, California does not provide free clothing or

transportation, the costs of which are deducted from the $200.

Further details regarding gate money, personal accounts, and cash assistance
procedures in California can be found in Appendix A. This information has been taken
from the Parolee Rights Handbook published by the Prison Law Office of San Quentin,
California, and includes embedded hyperlinks to all pertinent California State

legislation.

State-by-State Comparisons of Gate Money Policies and Procedures

As part of their larger series, The Lock-Up Society, American RadioWorks reporter John
Biewen spent more than a year following ex-inmates in Raleigh-Durham, North
Carolina. The resulting radio broadcast and related online publications, entitled Hard
Time: Life After Prison, utilize case studies, surveys, and other forms of field research to
highlight the post-release difficulties inmates face. The broadcast and related reports
also contain current state-by-state comparisons of gate money policies and procedures,
as Biewen conducted a comprehensive survey of State corrections departments,
specifically asking: "What do individuals leaving prison in your state get in terms of
gate money, bus tickets and/or clothing?" Results of this portion of the American

RadioWorks program can be found in Table 1 (p. 5).



To summarize the primary findings of the American RadioWorks state-by-state survey:

e The gate money provided by State prisons to released inmates ranges from $0 to

$200, with an average gate money sum of $54."

e Nearly one-third of analyzed states provide no gate money to released inmates
(13 of 45, or 30%). These states are: Idaho, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri,
New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South

Carolina, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

e (California and Hawaii offer the largest gate money payments ($200); Alaska

provides a comparable amount of $150.

e The majority of states maintain a system in which the money given to prisoners
comes from their own savings, or, in cases where the inmate's savings have not

reached the maximum allowable sum, the state will make up the difference.

¢ Gate money is almost always provided in the form of a check, particularly when
the sum is over $50, or when the funds being provided are coming from the
inmate’s personal account. Smaller amounts (e.g., $10) for inmates ruled

completely indigent are often given in the form of cash.

e Many states reported that gate money is determined on a case-by-case basis.
Little information was provided on how and why these various determinations
are made, but likely factors include inmates” personal savings, their participation
in work release programs, and their reported level of social support upon release
(i.e,, whether they are being met by family or friends outside the gates). In many
states, inmates are provided gate money on their first release from a State prison

only.

" Although all states were surveyed, several states failed to specify the amount of gate money provided, or responded
that gate money was variable (i.e., decided on a case-by-case basis or based on the inmate’s level of indigence). As a
result, the descriptive statistics provided here are based on information for 45 states only.



TABLE 1. GATE MONEY BY STATE*

State

Amount

Additional Comments and Procedures

Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

$10

$150

$50

$50

$200

$100

$50

$50

$100

$25

$200

Inmates receive a suit of clothes, appropriate to the weather, $10, and a bus
ticket to their county of conviction.

Personal property, $150 gate money, if eligible, reporting instructions.

The state withholds 25% of inmates' wages for their "Dedicated Discharge
Accounts," up to $50. Upon release, inmates receive this $50, whatever money
is in their private accounts, a set of clothes, and if they are eligible, a bus or
rail ticket to the closest stop outside the state line. Eligibility depends on
conditions of release and whether or not a prisoner has previously been
released or paroled.

Personal property in jacket, $50 check, bus ticket, if needed.

(With six or more months served) inmates are given $200, less cost of clothing,
and public transportation is provided by facility.

Inmates receive a set of clothing (sweatpants and shirt), $100, and a bus ticket
to a Colorado state line. If they are on parole and have no family networks, the
state assists them with finding housing.

Inmates who served 24 continuous months and are released without
supervision may be eligible for up to $50 in gate money. Facility
administrators have discretion to deny gate money to "disciplinary or security
problem inmates." Inmates with savings of $50 or more are not eligible. Those
with less are eligible for the difference between their balance and $50.
Transportation on a case-by-case basis.

Gate money is determined on a case-by-case basis. Indigent inmates who have
served more than 30 days receive $50. If they are released in an urban area, the
facility will provide them with bus fare. If they are released in a rural area,
they are provided with cab fare.

Prisoners receive a one-way bus ticket within Florida and $100.

Inmates receive $25 and a bus ticket.

Inmates may receive up to $200, divisible into $100 for cash spending money
and $100 for clothing. Inmates serving sentences of one year or longer are
eligible. If an inmate is leaving the state, he/she receives no transportation
assistance. Those traveling back to their county of conviction, may receive
assistance with a plane ticket.



http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/alabama.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/alaska.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/arizona.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/arkansas.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/california.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/colorado.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/connecticut.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/delaware.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/florida.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/georgia.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/hawaii.html

State Amount Additional Comments and Procedures
Appropriate clothing for current weather, a bus ticket on occasion, brown bag
Idaho $0
lunch.
Inmates will receive their own possessions, and a bus ticket to their parole site
Illinois $50 if needed. The administrator of the facility has discretion to dispense $20-$50
for meals.
Inmates will receive weather-appropriate clothing if necessary. They will
receive a bus ticket to the closest stop to their planned residence, if no family
Indiana $75 or friends can pick them up. Money from their accounts is mailed to their
planned residence. If a prisoner's account is empty, he/she will receive up to
$75 at the discretion of the facility administrator.
According to Iowa Code, inmates shall receive clothing and instate
transportation according to release conditions. Those who are discharged or
Iowa $100 . . . . . .
paroled will leave with $100, either from their own savings or supplied by the
state. Those on work-release receive $50.
Kansas $100 Clothing and $100 gate money.
Kentucky - Not specified.
.. Balance in inmate fund account or $10, bus ticket home (if indigent), clothing,
Louisiana $10 . S .
personal items, 3-day supply of medication (possibly).
Maine $50 .Clothing, up to $50, transportation to home or employment or to state border
in cases of parole.
Maryland $0 Personal property and reporting instructions, if applicable.
Massachusetts does not provide gate money, but if an inmate is determined
Massachusetts $0 . . . . .
indigent, the state works with local agencies to find housing and employment.
Michigan provides clothing and a bus ticket within the state. Prisoners are
released with the money from their accounts. In cases where an inmate has no
Michigan Variable money and no support network, the state provides a "reasonable

maintenance” for 2 weeks, which covers housing, food, and personal
necessities. This is a loan to be paid back in 180 days.



http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/idaho.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/illinois.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/indiana.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/iowa.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/kansas.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/kentucky.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/louisiana.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/maine.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/maryland.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/massachusetts.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/michigan.html

State Amount Additional Comments and Procedures
Minnesota $100 Clothing and $100.
For a continuous sentence of one year or less, $15; for more than one and less
. than ten, $25; for more than ten, $75; for 20 or more, $100. In addition, inmates
Mississippi Up to $100 . . . . . e
receive a bus ticket either to their county of conviction or to a Mississippi state
line.
Missouri $0 Inmates receive clothing and a bus ticket if necessary.
Montana -- Not specified.
Nebraska $100 Gate money up to $100; bus ticket to anywhere in the contiguous 48 states.
At the director's discretion, a facility may also provide up to $100, a set of
clothes, and the cost of transportation anywhere in the US or to the offender's
Nevada $100 - . '
county of conviction. These costs may legally be taken from the inmate's
account.
New Hampshire $100 Gate money of $100 if from medium-security facility; nothing if from halfway-
house.
Inmates have their own accounts throughout their incarceration, to which
New Jersey $0 . . . .
relatives can contribute, and they receive this money upon release.
New Mexico $50 $50 and a bus ticket.
New York $40 All inmates receive $40 and a bus ticket to their county of conviction.
Inmates receive their own personal property, any money in their accounts in
cash, and their ID cards. If they don't have identification, they are issued a
North Carolina $0 state ID. The state usually tries to arrange transfers before release dates so that

prisoners are released close to home. When this is not possible, the state
supplies a bus ticket home.



http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/minnesota.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/mississippi.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/missouri.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/montana.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/nebraska.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/nevada.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/newHampshire.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/newJersey.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/newMexico.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/newYork.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/northCarolina.html

State

Amount

Additional Comments and Procedures

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

$0

Up to $75

$50

$25

$0

$0

$0

$50

Up to $30

$100

$100

Prisoners in North Dakota receive no gate money. They are required to work
during their sentence and the state takes money out of their paycheck to put
into a "release aid account,” which they receive when they are released. When
inmates have not been able to work during their incarceration, they receive a
bus ticket.

One set of clothing suitable for weather, plus three sets of underwear and
socks and other accumulated clothing; from $25-$75 and personal,
accumulated funds and property; applicable papers.

Inmates receive the money from their accounts. If they are indigent, they
receive $50. If they have no one to pick them up, the state provides them with
a bus ticket to their county of conviction.

(If indigent), $25, dress-outs if no clothing, bus voucher if needed.

Rules and regulation papers and additional information as needed for some
inmates.

Personal belongings and any money generated in inmate's account.

If necessary, inmates receive bus tickets within the state, and a set of clothes
(which are mostly donated by churches).

Inmates receive a bus ticket or a ride to their county of commitment, but not if
they've received such help before. On their first release, inmates leave with a
minimum of $50 - if their accounts contain less, the state makes up the
difference. Inmates who have already received gate money will not receive it
again.

Least expensive transportation to county/city of planned residence within the
state, if needed; up to $30; state purchased used clothing.

Applicable certificates, plus $100 gate money; bus ticket (if released to Parole
and Mandatory Supervision).

Because of alleged abuse of the gate money system and due to the state
budget crisis sweeping the nation, the Utah Department of Corrections
recently announced the overhaul of its gate money program. A spokesman for
the department said those with determined need will receive more than $100,
but that far fewer inmates will now be receiving the traditional $100 gate
money.



http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/northDakota.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/ohio.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/oklahoma.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/oregon.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/pennsylvania.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/rhodeIsland.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/southCarolina.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/southDakota.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/tennessee.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/texas.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/utah.html

State

Amount

Additional Comments and Procedures

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

$0

$40

$0

$0

Variable

Before the recent budget crisis that most states are now facing, the Vermont
Department of Corrections had leases on apartments throughout the state, in
which inmates could live during their transition back into the community.
Budget cuts eliminated that program. Vermont has no formal gate money
program, but the state does provide transportation to their community
service-provider when necessary.

Not specified.

ID and social security card, reporting instructions, transportation (if required)
and $40 gate money if released from total confinement.

Release procedures are at the discretion of the facilities, but mainly consist of a
bus ticket to the county of conviction, money in the amount of such a ticket, or
a ride to the bus station. Inmates who have not been paroled before may be
eligible for up to $300 from the Rosenblum Trust Fund, which is a private
organization, not part of the DOC.

The state withholds a percentage of inmates' earnings for a release account,
payable to them upon their release. They also receive whatever money was in
their regular account, and a bus ticket to their community if necessary. Some
inmates can be picked up by their parole or probation officers.

Inmates at the main men's prison receive a bus ticket if they have no one to
pick them up. If it is a long bus trip, they may receive some money for meals
along the way. They may also receive clothing if they need it.

*Biewen, John. (2003, March). Hard Time: Life After Prison [Radio Broadcast]. The Lock-Up Society. St. Paul, MN: American RadioWorks.
Retrieved October 10, 2007 from http://americanradioworks.publicradio.org

Based on the 45 states for which gate money sums were provided, the following grid provides a

convenient summary of Table 1:

Number of States

Gate Money Ranges (out of 45)
50 13
$10-$40 7
$50-$75 11
100-$150 12

$200 2



http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/vermont.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/virginia.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/washington.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/westVirginia.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/wisconsin.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/wyoming.html

It should also be noted that the gate money figures used to calculate these ranges and
averages were the reported maximum sums provided by each state. Thus the figures

necessarily overestimate what the average prisoner truly sees.

Similar state-by-state information on gate money can be found in a 2004 report by the
National Institute of Corrections (Linke & Ritchie, 2004), which aimed to “show the
contrasts and variety of reentry approaches, provide information to officials and
organizations involved in reentry and transition projects, and provide some baseline
information to measure changes in transition and reentry efforts within state corrections
systems” (p. 2). Information was collected during 2003 and 2004 via interviews with
State corrections officials and supplemented with data from agency publications and
online resources. The results of the report provide similar (but some additional)
information compared to the RadioWorks report, including expanded details on the
tive large states to which California is often compared in issues of state governance:
Florida, Illinois, New York, North Carolina, and Texas. Direct excerpts from the NIC
report, namely from the “Inmate Release Process” sections for California and these five
other states, are presented next:

California: Inmates are released from any of the state facilities. Inmates are

provided $200 “gate money,” transportation to the nearest bus station, and

civilian clothes if necessary. Both clothing and transportation costs are deducted

from the gate money total.

Florida: Offenders with less than $100 in their inmate account and within six
months of release are eligible to receive $100 “gate money” if they are not
released to a detaining agency. A bus ticket and clothing are provided as

necessary. Gate money and personal funds are given to inmates in the form of a

check.

10



Illinois: Inmates are released from any of Illinois” correctional facilities. Inmates
receive a bus ticket to their release site within the state, $10 “gate money” in
addition to funds in their personal accounts, and civilian clothing if needed. If
the inmate has personal funds, these monies are given in the form of a check; if

the inmate is indigent, $10 cash is provided upon release.

New York: All released inmates receive $40 “gate money” plus funds in their
personal accounts. They also are provided transportation to the county of

conviction and civilian clothing if needed.

North Carolina: If inmates do not have funds in their personal accounts, they
may be eligible as indigents for up to $45 of “gate money” to cover
transportation or other release expenses. Inmates must have served at least 24
months to be eligible for such assistance. Inmates may also be provided civilian
clothing if needed. Gate money and personal funds are given to inmates in the

form of a check.

Texas: Most male inmates are released from Huntsville and females from
Gatesville, Texas. In Huntsville, a local Baptist Church has a Welcome Back
Program that assists offenders with linkages to community programs and
resources. Prison inmates can get $50 plus a bus voucher upon release and
another $50 when they report to their parole officer. District Offices have “clothes
closets” to assist those in need, and larger districts have District Resource Centers
where programs and services are delivered, including referral to community
resources. Gate money and personal funds are given to inmates in the form of a
check, which can be immediately cashed at the bus station associated with their

transportation voucher.

11



Debates Regarding Gate Money
On the surface, the question of how gate money is intended to be used is fairly
straightforward: food, clothing, shelter, and other incidentals. The CDCR Parolee

Information Handbook states the following;:

You will be given gate money when you leave the prison. Do not waste this

money. Gate money should be used for needs like food, a room, and travel. If you

get released to a hold, you will not get your gate money until that hold is cleared,

and you are again released. Talk to your parole agent about your gate money if

this happens (CDCR, 2007, p. 4).
Because the majority of gate money payments are given in the form of a check, it may
be difficult to cash for those leaving prison with no form of official identification. Some
states do release a portion of an inmate’s gate money in cash and the balance in check
form, while still others provide the money in the form of a debit card or mail checks to
inmates within 30 days of release (American Corrections Association, 2007). Initial
meetings with parole officers typically take place the day of and/or the day after release,
and many parole officers have the discretion to provide small emergency loans to
parolees for basic necessities. Although, anecdotally, corrections officials and frontline

workers fear gate money and other loans may go toward the purchase of drugs, no

formal research was found to bolster or mitigate such fears.

Gate money is a topic often discussed by advocacy groups and grass roots
organizations dedicated to corrections issues. A 2006 report by the California-based
Time for Change Foundation, for example, presents the results of two large, qualitative
studies conducted with paroled women in California (Carter, Ojukwu, & Miller, 2006).
The majority of the surveyed women reported encountering serious difficulties in the
weeks and months following release, particularly when it came to employment and

housing. Over 80% of respondents did not have a job at the time of release, and 56%

12



reported that it had been more than a year since they had been employed full-time.
Three out of four respondents also reported being homeless at some point; 41%
reported current homelessness. Many of the women specifically cited a lack of

immediately available funds as being a serious problem in the days following release.

As a result of these and other findings, the Time for Change report recommended an
increase in the current $200 allowance, most of which goes into clothing and medical
needs, and is therefore unavailable for food and shelter in the days that follow. Also
evident in the report is that the provision of necessities or housing in lieu of cash would
be just as, if not more, helpful. Similar recommendations were made by the Arizona-
based Middle Ground Prison Reform in their 2003 report, which aimed to make specific
suggestions to the State legislature and Department of Corrections regarding issues of
reentry. They recommended that inmates should be able to earn interest on money in

their prison accounts (e.g., in a dedicated discharge account).

Some researchers, newsletters, and corrections organizations suggest that State funds
may be better spent on more comprehensive pre- and post-release programming if the
goal is to prevent recidivism. A 2006 research brief put out in Corrections Today (a
publication of the American Corrections Association) reported the results of a survey of
over 1,000 offenders and corrections staff (Braucht & Bailey-Smith, 2006). The survey
revealed much about inmates” pre-release concerns and their own beliefs regarding the
likely cause or causes their recidivism (if any). Gate money, however, did not seem to

rank high on the list of inmate concerns.

13



Conclusions

“Understanding individual-level influences on transitions from prison to community is
a complex conceptual and empirical task” (Visher & Travis, 2003, p. 98). Although
prisoner advocates suggest that the procurement of basic necessities during the first few
days of release is crucial for the initial emotional and logistical well-being of these ex-

offenders, gate money is only one piece of the post-release picture.

In contacting corrections officials across the country, the authors of the NIC report cited
earlier found that most states are “in various stages of change and...expect current
planning to result in modifications to reentry and transition procedures in the near
future.” Whether those changes include modifications in gate money policies is not

known at this time.

Empirical research on the uses and effects of gate money is needed. Fortunately,
research on gate money is forthcoming from a number of academic and nonprofit
organizations, including Cornell University and the Urban Institute. As the current
report has demonstrated, California is among the most generous states in terms of gate
money. Yet it is unclear what the average prisoner retains of that $200 after deductions
are made for clothes, transportation, and other medical or victim reparation fees. A
study on this issue could lend support for the change or continuation of current gate

money policies.
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Appendix A

Penal Code Information Related to Personal Accounts,
Gate Money, and Cash Assistance for Parolees

1. Trust Fund Accounts (Penal Code § 2085)

Money brought to, earned, or received in prison can be kept in a trust account. Any money in a

prisoner's trust account must be given to the prisoner upon release.

2. Gate Money (Penal Code § 2713.1; 15 CCR § 3075.2(d); CDC Operations Manual § 81010.6)

In addition to any trust account funds, prisoners paroled or discharged from a CDC institution
or reentry facility are entitled to $200.00 upon release. The parole agent is responsible for giving
out these funds, and need not grant a prisoner the entire lump sum immediately upon release.
The agent may distribute the $200 in installments over a period of 60 days following release.
Although practice varies, paroled inmates typically receive at least $50 to $100 of the gate
money immediately upon release, and many receive the entire $200. Parole violators who have
served less than six consecutive months prior to release are also eligible for gate money.
However, these parolees are not necessarily eligible for the full $200. Instead, they will receive
gate funds computed at a rate of $1.10 per day served during the revocation term, up to a

maximum of $200.00.

A parolee who is released into a reentry facility may be given a maximum of one half of the
$200. A parolee who is released into the custody of another state or a local or federal agency,
may not receive any gate money unless he or she later is released for and available for parole
supervision. If a parolee needs to purchase a bus ticket or street clothes upon release from
prison, the parolee must pay for it. The CDC does not provide extra gate money for clothing or

transportation.
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http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate?WAISdocID=55306924989+0+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate?WAISdocID=55314325497+0+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve
http://weblinks.westlaw.com/Search/default.wl?RP=%2FWelcome%2FFrameless%2FSearch%2Ewl&n=1&action=Search&CFID=0&db=ca%2Dadc&method=TNC&query=ci%28%2215++CA+ADC+s+3075%2E2%22%29&recreatepath=%2Fsearch%2Fdefault%2Ewl&RLT=CLID%5FQRYRLT4845111610&RLTDB=CLID%5FD
http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Regulations/Adult_Operations/docs/DOM/Ch_8_Printed_Final_DOM.pdf

3. Cash Assistance Loans and Bank Drafts (15 CCR § 3705 and CDC Operations Manual §

81070.1)

There are also some emergency funds available to parolees through their parole agents. “Cash
assistance funds” are loans, which CDC expects the parolee to pay back as soon as employment
and personal circumstances permit. The loans are only granted to parolees when there is a
critical need and assistance is not available from any other source. The loans are usually for
amounts under $50. The parole agent's supervisor must approve any loan over $50 any series of

loans totaling more than $150 in a 30 day period.

The parole agent is also authorized to distribute funds for casework services, which include
housing, food, and clothing. The agent may authorize a loan of up to $500 to the parolee for
over-the-counter purchases. The check may be written to either the parolee or the vendor from
whom the parolee is purchasing items. Once again, the loans are granted on an emergency

basis, and the parolee must pay the money back as soon as circumstances permit.

A parolee should keep in mind that the parole agent and agent’s supervisor have discretion
over whether to grant a loan to a particular parolee. A parolee is not automatically entitled to a
loan. A parole agent’s decision to grant or deny a loan depends whether there is a money

available and on the circumstances, including the history and needs of the parolee.
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http://weblinks.westlaw.com/Search/default.wl?RP=%2FWelcome%2FFrameless%2FSearch%2Ewl&n=1&action=Search&CFID=0&db=ca%2Dadc&method=TNC&query=ci%28%2215++CA+ADC+s+3075%2E2%22%29&recreatepath=%2Fsearch%2Fdefault%2Ewl&RLT=CLID%5FQRYRLT4845111610&RLTDB=CLID%5FD
http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Regulations/Adult_Operations/docs/DOM/Ch_8_Printed_Final_DOM.pdf
http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Regulations/Adult_Operations/docs/DOM/Ch_8_Printed_Final_DOM.pdf
http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Regulations/Adult_Operations/docs/DOM/Ch_8_Printed_Final_DOM.pdf

